Journal of Algebraic Combinatorics flips to Fair OA

The editors-in-chief and editorial board of Journal of Algebraic Combinatorics, currently published by Springer, have given notice of resignation. The Editors-in-Chief will see out their contracts with the old journal, until 31 December 2017. They will start a new journal, Algebraic Combinatorics, run according to the principles of Fair Open Access.The new journal, to be published in association with Centre Mersenne, is already open for business, with interim editors Victor Reiner and Satoshi Murai. To my knowledge this is the first time a mathematics journal has switched from a large commercial publisher to an open access model, let alone Fair Open Access. We hope it starts a trend, and congratulate the editors in chief Akihiro Munemasa,  Hendrik van Maldeghem, Christos Athanasiadis and Hugh Thomas.

Introducing MathOA

In order to facilitate the rapid conversion of existing subscription journals to a “Fair Open Access” model based on open access, no author fees, and control by the research community, the MathOA foundation has been established in December 2016. It is modelled on the linguistics organization LingOA. Further disciplinary “xOA” organizations are being created, and an overarching Fair Open Access Alliance is also planned.

The main purpose of MathOA is to smooth the way for editorial boards to negotiate with commercial publishers, and to resign and set up the converted journal if required. Finding transitional and sustainable funding is a key task of MathOA. We are actively pursuing funding options and discussions with editorial boards.

MathOA is a non-profit foundation based in the Netherlands, a so-called Stichting in compliance with Dutch law. MathOA is formally governed by its board members and the executive editors of participating journals.  The board members are:

  • President: Jos Baeten (CWI Amsterdam)
  • Secretary: Mark C. Wilson (Auckland)
  • Treasurer: Lieke Schultze (CWI Amsterdam)
  • Benoît Kloeckner (Paris-Est – Créteil Val-de-Marne)
  • Johan Rooryck (Leiden)

Guidance on project direction and admission of new journals is determined by the academic advisory board:

  • Henry Cohn, Microsoft Research
  • Toby Gee, Imperial College London
  • Timothy Gowers, University of Cambridge
  • Thomas Hales, University of Pittsburgh
  • David Mumford, Brown University
  • Andrew Odlyzko, University of Minnesota
  • Victor Reiner, University of Minnesota

Project leader is Saskia C.J. de Vries (Sampan – academia & publishing).

If you are interested in belonging to the advisory board, please make your case by email.